If you're a user of a Canon DSLR, then welcome. This is your home.

Moderators: gstark, Moderators

Forum rules
Please ensure that you have a meaningful location included in your profile. Please refer to the FAQ for details of what "meaningful" is. Please also check the portal page for more information on this.

Postby Wappie on Thu Dec 24, 2009 10:27 pm

Hi everyone.
I am researching lenses for the 7D I am about to buy. I used an 18-200mm lens this week, and found the 200 zoom to be too short! (Is short the word...I am a beginner re photography theory.) I know I would really enjoy a 300mm zoom, but I'm concerned about the weight of the 28-300 as an everyday lens. I didn't find the 18-200mm too heavy at all. I am opting for the 28-300mm, because it's an all in one lens, similar to the 18-200 but with the extra telephoto, allowing me to use just one lens for now. As my photography improves, I guess I will want other lenses for specific purposes.

Looking forward to anyone's comments re using a heavy lens as my general everyday lens, plus any other pros and cons etc.
Thank you,
Wappie
Wappie

Re: Feedback:Canon 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6L IS USM for everyday use?

Postby surenj on Fri Dec 25, 2009 1:42 am

Hi Wappie,

Welcome to the forum.

I have never used this lens before but until you try this lens on the camera of your choice (7D) I would reserve judgement.

It's large, heavy and expensive and this may not the combination you want in a beginner sort of kit.

Also 28mm is not very wide on a 7D so you may find that you will need a seperate wide angle lens as well.

Also consider the 18-270 made by Tamron but keeping in mind that superzooms compromise image quality for longer reach.

Also consider what you are going to photograph before making very expensive purchases.
surenj

Postby gstark on Fri Dec 25, 2009 8:45 am

Hi Wappie, and welcome.