Sony A7r III with Canon 1.2 lenses - Aperture error - 1.3

Have your say on issues related to using a DSLR camera.

Moderator: Moderators

Forum rules
Please ensure that you have a meaningful location included in your profile. Please refer to the FAQ for details of what "meaningful" is.

Sony A7r III with Canon 1.2 lenses - Aperture error - 1.3

Postby haring on Sat May 05, 2018 9:51 am

Have been using my Metabones Adaptor with the a7R III for Canon EF glasses.
However, I notice that with both the 50/1.2L and 85/1.2L II, both lenses only open up to f1.3, and not f1.2.
I am curious as to why that may be? Is it Metabones problem? Canon's? It obviously does not matter to the images, but I am curious why that may be the case. Anyone?


The lens is fully open but aperture is 1.3 not 1.2.... Anybody has the same problem?
User avatar
haring
Member
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 2:25 pm
Location: Miami, Florida

Re: Sony A7r III with Canon 1.2 lenses - Aperture error - 1.

Postby gstark on Mon May 07, 2018 8:14 am

I would not describe this as a "problem", but more of an expected outcome.

As soon as you introduce extra elements (or even just distance) into the optical path, you will most likely affect the optical performance, including your aperture.
g.
Gary Stark
Nikon, Canon, Bronica .... stuff
The people who want English to be the official language of the United States are uncomfortable with their leaders being fluent in it - US Pres. Bartlet
User avatar
gstark
Site Admin
 
Posts: 22571
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Bondi, NSW


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests

cron